Wednesday, October 17, 2007

update

So last night me and eric sat down to have our first offical wedding planning session. It went really well.

I had this style survey that I had found on-line/ made up and we agreed on a lot of things. One of the questions they gave you was to pick out of this list of like 30 words the three words you want to describe your wedding. We both picked: fun, unique, casual. So that's cool.

We discussed the time of the wedding. I wanted three, he wanted one. We're going to get married at 2pm. Mark your calenders. I kept invisioning that we would get married at 3pm and still have people showing up at the reception at like 4:30 and he convinced me that weddings never start on time and it takes a while to get people to the reception. So we can start at 2 and they'll still be getting to the recetption around 4:30. And still have the reception last through the golden hour when everyone and everything looks so pretty.

I told him I wanted to have big hanging lights and he's like, "we have those at work. we use them for the fair". His audio/visual company does all the lights and sound for the LA county fair. So he talked to his boss and they were like, sure you can have 100-200 feet of lights (like the full size light bulb ones, with wire reinforcements built in) we're going to get them for "a small fee" which is FANTASTIC.

We also decided that we are going to have round tables. I really wanted rectangle tables becuase they have less open space and I like how the decor will fit. But he brought up a really good point that who ever is at the end feels left out and rectangle tables arn't conducive to good convo. And people are more important then things looking good. All very good points. So I agreed and we decided on round tables. I still want to do the "found art" look of lots of small vases and votives. I just may now want to have a unifying center vase to pull it all together... we'll see.

One sad note in the planning- Salena may not be in the wedding. I posted a message on Shane's myspace that her and shane got pretty offended over. I shouldn't have sent it. I didn't think through how it would be taken and the consequences it would have... I'm still hoping she'll accept my apology and we can talk it out/ put it behind us... but I don't know if that will happen and that is sad.

So we may have only 5 bridesmaids (though most of you are married, so does that make you bridesmatrons? weird) and one of you will have two guys walk them down the aisle... or one guy will walk solo at the end. That will be kind of funny.

k. friends. that's all for now. I'm still feeling a little bit on east coast time so I'm gonna hit the sack.

M.D. out

1 comment:

Jenny said...

I am so glad your planning time went so well, you guys did a great job on agreeing on things. How wonderful about the lights from Eric's work, its all about having connections!